Justin Survived the Japanese Game Show, MAJIDE!

August 6, 2008 at 9:00 am | Posted in tv shows | 3 Comments

A quick follow-up to my I Survived a Japanese Game Show Review to congratulate Justin Wood for winning the competition. Truthfully, my money was on Donnell to win as he was a very worthy competitor. Interesting as I saw no further announcements of this win on any of the daytime talk shows today. Not even ABC’s Live with Regis and Kelly or Good Morning America… You would think that the TV station would want to promote the winner of this great show, even just to wrap-up the season. Hmmm, does that indicate lack of popularity or no second season in the works?? That would be a shame.

In another life, I might have tried out for this show. At times, I thought that I might do well at the game’s kooky challenges. Where do they come up with this stuff? According to Wikipedia, the original ten contestants were told that they were going to compete in a game show, but not told what the nature of the show was. How is that even possible? Did the competitors somehow get on a Reality show mailing list and signed up with no knowledge of the show? Details are a little fuzzy as to how this all came together, but after seeing the show, I bet a lot of people would want to audition for it (including myself). I’m not super spry, but I would have a strong sense of team strategy and quick wit going for me. Plus, living in Japan for a couple of weeks, competing for $250,000?? Sounds like a dream. Then again, I might end up like Darcy… getting lucky, but mostly falling on my face. hahaha  Seeing the Super Majide challenge for the title made me realize the difficulty of each game, plus the dizzy factor. Yeesh! I don’t know.

Shout-out to the wonderfully hysterical host Romu and Judge Bob. Very entertaining and I hope they bring it back again next year!

Here is a link the show’s wiki for a breakdown of each episodes challenges.

The Meaning of Majide! – Thanks, Peter!

5 Lessons American TV should learn from Japanese Game Shows

Hole in the Wall is Coming to America! This is also known as Human Tetris. Damn! Missed those auditions too… right in Times Square Dave and Busters. I’ll bet that will be exciting to see!

RATING: ****/5
Recommendation: ABC execs: If you are reading this, please bring this show back! (and send me an application… haha)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haha, I’d love to join the 2nd season too. 😉 Hole in The Wall is casting for players, why don’t you go for it? 😛

  2. They should make Human Tetris into a real video game — NES original

  3. i am so glad that justin won majide


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.